Rules for ICs (40k)

User avatar
Ankaru
Veteran
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Athol, MA

Rules for ICs (40k)

Postby Ankaru » Sat Jul 30, 2016 1:29 am

If an independent character is allowed to take a body guard squad, is that character able to join other units and have his bodyguard come with him and also join the other squad?
Fantasy is cool. Sci-fi is cool too. But when you combine them, they become even cooler.

User avatar
Sergio
Whiteshield
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:51 am

Re: Rules for ICs (40k)

Postby Sergio » Sat Jul 30, 2016 3:58 am

Unless the bodyguard also have the independent character special rule then no. Only ICs can join or leave units. It also specifically says in the rulebook "If the Independent Character is within 2" of more than one unit at the end of its Movement phase, the player must declare which unit it is joining." So you can't use an IC to smash two units together unless one of the units was solely comprised of ICs.

Any bodyguard unit, Servitors for a techmarine come to mind would just function as it's own unit if the Techmarine left or died. The Tau book specifically says drones that are with an IC can still join a unit so as long as they are that IC's upgrades so that's an exception to the rule.
Victory needs no excuse, failure allows for none.

User avatar
Ankaru
Veteran
Posts: 792
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:46 pm
Location: Athol, MA

Re: Rules for ICs (40k)

Postby Ankaru » Sat Jul 30, 2016 4:57 am

Ah darn, so I can't have a squad of termies mixed in with 20 ablative cultists.
Fantasy is cool. Sci-fi is cool too. But when you combine them, they become even cooler.

User avatar
Sergio
Whiteshield
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:51 am

Re: Rules for ICs (40k)

Postby Sergio » Sat Jul 30, 2016 4:16 pm

Yeah best you can do is have the cultists be in front and act as intervening models which would give the terminators a 5+ cover save which is also the same as their 5+ inv save. So the cultists only really protect the termies against ap1 or 2 weapons that also ignore inv saves or there's some ongoing effect on the termies that lowers their inv saves while again being hit with ap 1 or 2 weapons. On top of that would give your termies' target a 5+ cover save for shooting through the cultists so it only really provides protection against assaults something a unit must charge at first since they are simply in the way unless they can move around the cultists to get to the termies.

Yeah if you could use ICs to join 2 units together you would of had orks using gretchin as bullet sponges ages ago. There's also the abuse of suddenly giving units access to special rules they normally wouldn't have because a unit with that rule joined them because of an IC. Like having a command squad suddenly joining a terminator squad and the whole blob now gets FnP because of the apothecary.
Victory needs no excuse, failure allows for none.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests