"It's like he passes in and out of reality."

User avatar
Grandmaster marc
Hardened Vet
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:13 am

"It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Grandmaster marc » Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:17 pm

If I give Cloak of Ulric and Armor of Glimmering scales to a general mounted on a Monster (like a griffin, or pegisus) does the rider and mount get -2 to be hit in close combat?
"To take a town, send a legionary. To take a city, send a squad. To take a world, send a company. To take a culture, send a Chapter."

-Popular Ultramarines Aphorism

User avatar
Randy
Whiteshield
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:32 pm
Location: Belchertown
Contact:

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Randy » Tue May 07, 2013 11:07 am

Is the cloak magical armor?
Don't tell people how to do things, tell them what to do and let them surprise you with their results.
George S. Patton

User avatar
Grandmaster marc
Hardened Vet
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:13 am

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Grandmaster marc » Tue May 07, 2013 12:27 pm

No it counts as a talisman.
"To take a town, send a legionary. To take a city, send a squad. To take a world, send a company. To take a culture, send a Chapter."

-Popular Ultramarines Aphorism

User avatar
Kinne
Master of the Administratum
Posts: 4821
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Western Mass

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Kinne » Tue May 07, 2013 1:52 pm

Check the very beginning of the rulebook about modifying dice rolls. It should say there whether or not modifiers stack with each other. Also check the beginning of the magic items section. I don't have my rulebook handy to peek at that, but I THINK they might stack properly to give your opponent -2 To Hit.
"Every man is a spark in the darkness. By the time he is noticed, he is gone forever; a retinal after image that soon fades and is obscured by newer, brighter lights."

User avatar
Grandmaster marc
Hardened Vet
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:13 am

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Grandmaster marc » Thu May 09, 2013 9:06 am

Kinne, they do stack. I was just wondering if the mount (which is a monster) go the bonus, but according to Randy yesterday it does not because you choose either to attack the rider or the mount.
"To take a town, send a legionary. To take a city, send a squad. To take a world, send a company. To take a culture, send a Chapter."

-Popular Ultramarines Aphorism

User avatar
Kinne
Master of the Administratum
Posts: 4821
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Western Mass

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Kinne » Thu May 09, 2013 11:40 am

They pretty much separated the rider and the mount in the rules now. Unless a rule specifically states that it effects both, it generally only benefits the rider. The only difference is ranged attacks. If something gives a -1 penalty to hit, it would effect the entire model at range because hits are randomized as opposed to close combat attacks that are allocated.
"Every man is a spark in the darkness. By the time he is noticed, he is gone forever; a retinal after image that soon fades and is obscured by newer, brighter lights."

User avatar
Grandmaster marc
Hardened Vet
Posts: 1296
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 11:13 am

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Grandmaster marc » Thu May 09, 2013 1:16 pm

Interesting, that's something to think about, thanks.
"To take a town, send a legionary. To take a city, send a squad. To take a world, send a company. To take a culture, send a Chapter."

-Popular Ultramarines Aphorism

User avatar
Kinne
Master of the Administratum
Posts: 4821
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Western Mass

Re: "It's like he passes in and out of reality."

Postby Kinne » Thu May 09, 2013 2:09 pm

Also bear in mind that monstrous mounts are EXTREMELY squishy against template weapons. If I hit it with a cannon, both the rider and mount are struck with S10 that inflicts D6 wounds. You have to be very cautious with movement and placement. For example, placing him several inches behind an infantry unit can protect him somewhat from cannon fire. You have to see the point on the battlefield where the cannon shot will land, meaning he has to nominate a point in front of the infantry unit. The cannonball will then have to overshoot and bounce further to hit him. Since he's taller than the infantry models, he can see over them, and fly over them to charge. It also, obviously, protects him from being charge by non-flyers.
"Every man is a spark in the darkness. By the time he is noticed, he is gone forever; a retinal after image that soon fades and is obscured by newer, brighter lights."


Return to “Empire”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest